Christmas is Coming!

rudolphsanta.gif

Who doesn’t love the old Rankin and Bass Christmas cartoons? Okay, maybe Charlie Manson or someone like that hates them, but most people of my generation have a warm and fuzzy spot for these silly little holiday specials. In fact, Rankin and Bass had such a profound effect on me as a kid that the first stories I started writing in college were Christmas stories! Albeit mine were weird for the sake of being weird (“The Christmas Spam”, story of a magic batch of spam that could be formed into real toys being the ultimate example of my weirdness). But one of my best stories to date was inspired by the Rankin and Bass brand of story-telling. One that I am confident enough to have sent out to agents and publishers. Sure, I’ve gotten negligible responses so far, but that’s all a part process right? Anyway, it’s time to bundle up my two year in his jammies with feets and wrap him in a warm blankie so that we can watch “Jack Frost” and “Rudolph’s Christmas in July”–no wonder I wrote such weird Christmas stories huh?

—David F.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment